

St. Mary's County Government

AGRICULTURE, SEAFOOD, AND FORESTRY BOARD

P.O. Box 653, 23115 Leonard Hall Drive, Leonardtown, MD 20650 •TELEPHONE 301-475-4200 ext. 1402 • Fax 301-475-4414

> John K. Parlett, Jr., Chairman David Paulk, Vice Chairman

Phil Dorsey Adam Dyson Robert Jarboe Heather Kantor James Moore James "Bubby" Norris Michael Sirk James Spence Joseph Wood

Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board January 10, 2013 Meeting Notes

Call to Order

The Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board meeting was held in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center. Members in attendance were John Parlett, Phil Dorsey, Robert Jarboe, James Moore, and James Spence. Also present were Bruce Young and Tom Koviak from the St. Mary's Soil Conservation District, Ben Beale from the Maryland Cooperative Extension Service and Donna Sasscer and Lisa Ledman from the St. Mary's County's Economic Development Department. Guest attendees included Ms. Cynthia Jones, St. Mary's County Commissioner and Mr. Tucker Brown, St. Mary's Watermen's Association. Members not in attendance included Adam Dyson, Heather Kantor, James Norris, Michael Sirk and Joseph Wood. The meeting was called to order at 12:20 p.m. Attendance was called and it was confirmed that there were not enough members present to form a quorum.

Old Business

Agriculture Services Center –Mr. Young will prepare a request to have the county funding turned over to the Soil Conservation District for this completion versus using the County procurement process.

New Business

Mr. Parlett welcomed Mr. Spence to the Board and announced that Mr. Sirk was reappointed to serve another term.

Elections of Officers for 2013 will be deferred to the next meeting.

Replenishment of oyster bars in the Potomac River. Mr. Brown from the St. Mary's Watermen's Associations briefed the Board on operations currently underway to help replenish the oyster stock in the area. Mr. Parlett suggested the watermen need to have involvement at local farmers markets as an outlet for selling their goods. Mr. Jarboe suggested that a member representing the watermen should join this Board, Ms. Ledman will send an application to Mr. Brown.

Open Comment

None.

Sub-Committee Reports

Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Board

Members - vacant (Chairman), Heather Kantor (Vice Chair), vacant, James Moore, & David Paulk

Membership of the Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Board will need to be reassigned at February Meeting. Mr. Wood will be the only member that fits the requirement of a defined "Farmer" to replace Mr. Knott who retired from the Board. Mr. Parlett stated he would like to see Mr. Spence serve on the committee as he has previously served on the Board and was a valuable asset.

Agricultural Reconciliation Committee

Members – Robert Jarboe (Chairman), Michael Sirk (Vice Chair), Phil Dorsey, Adam Dyson, & James "Bubby" Norris
NONE.

Farmers Markets Sub-Committee

Members – Joseph Wood (Chairman), James Moore (Vice Chair), David Paulk, Heather Kantor The Farmers Market Sub-Committee will meet before the February Meeting. Topics to be discusses will include location of current markets and where there is a need, order and control of products sold, access and parking. The Board would like to see focus on an improved or new location in the Charlotte Hall area, Ms. Sasscer will look for funding sources (possible regional effort).

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 2:15 p.m. The next meeting will be held on Thursday, February 14, 2013 at noon in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center.